A Life Redefined by Tracy Hewitt Meyer – Book review

cover_amazonI usually crank out my book reviews as soon as I’m done reading, but A Life Redefined…did something to me…and I still don’t know if I’ve figured out what exactly that was, but it wasn’t bad. It was an irreversible shift, a root taking hold, that lets me know this book will resonate with me for a long time to come. First off, I haven’t read many books in the first person, but this one made me feel like Rowan Slone more than any other first-person narrator has cast me into the shoes of the main character.

Let’s start with the impact of this novel.

Rowan Slone feels like she is responsible for the death of her baby brother. The worst part is that everyone in her family makes sure she knows they unabashedly blame her and make her continually pay for it. Holy hell, what a burden for a teen to carry let alone any stable adult.

I don’t know what your teen years were like, but I assume everyone went through moments of insecurity and self-doubts. Who could ever love me? Who could possibly think I’m cool? I have nothing to offer the world, boys I like, my family, etc. No? Maybe I was just screwed up a little too, but I sympathized with Rowan from page one. And I don’t like novels that are overly depressing, but this wasn’t – it was the kind of depressing that makes you HAVE to find out: Where is she going? What’s going to happen to her? What will become of her life?

tracey-meyerTracy Hewitt Meyer certainly speaks the language and thoughts of YA. They’re adults trapped in the bodies of teens with adult problems and I’m sure all YA aged readers will give her a big nod after this touching, gritty, realistic, heartfelt masterpiece. If you don’t know Rowan Slone, you should drop by her world and listen to her unforgettable voice. Warning, it won’t leave you when you’re done.

*I guess I owe you the “what it did to me part” now. Well, I think that it’s when I/we think of our teen years, instinctively my mind says, “I don’t want to go back there!”. Ms. Meyer forced me to do that and it was eye-opening, nostalgic, sentimental, and makes me take stock of what I’ve learned because of what we go through in our teen years. It also makes me appreciate the struggles of the youth and not underestimate that we can learn something from people much younger than us.

Pages: 202

Series: A Rowan Slone series (book 1 of 3)

Drea Damara

 

Best to you all & happy reading. -D.D.

Drea Damara is an occasional blogger of useless information and author.

8 thoughts on “A Life Redefined by Tracy Hewitt Meyer – Book review

    1. I think the author did an excellent job of portraying how a teen might react to all of this pressure. There was a hint of romance & development of friendship that also captured the essence of teen life that I appreciated. And pets! who doesn’t love pets 😉

  1. Rowan is more than a character…she is real. She is every teenage girl, every doubt, every worry. She is someone we can all relate to. Tracy is an amazing writer and this is an amazing series. Great review, Drea!

Leave a Reply

